What is the standard divorce process?

The standard divorce process involves three key stages:

  1. An application for a divorce, called a petition.
  2. An application for Decree Nisi, the first certificate issued in divorce by the Court.
  3. An application for Decree Absolute, the second certificate issued in divorce by the Court.

« Back to FAQs

Contact Us

Contact us today to see how we can help you...

Call: 0113 201 4904

Get in touch »


‘Digital divorces’: The facts

A successful pilot scheme in Nottingham earlier this year tested the feasibility of moving the divorce process online.

Read more »

Divorce legislation: Behind the times?

A recent divorce case highlights the need for the Matrimonial Causes Act 1973 to be updated in line with modern day society.

Read more »